That Awkward Moment When…

That awkward moment in the morning when you realize there is no way to save your half completed hairstyle, except to where a scarf to work. Last night, I finished the first quarter of my hair, front right. This morning, I did four on the front left. But that is NO where near enough to be presentable any were. So I did what black women with half finished hair have been doing for years – covered it up!fauxlocs in the making

I put on earrings (in the car) and makeup (in the car) and used bobby pins to secure it (also done in the car). All done in the hopes that it boosts my overall appearance from “wearing a head wrap because I woke up like this” to “trying out a new ethnic style, and you can’t judge me for it, because I’m Black Ya’ll“. So this pic to the right is what I’ve got going on, and I’m hoping to pass through the work day with minimal comments about it, so I can rush home tonight and get more done.

If you’re wondering – yes, this task IS laborious. As I was braiding/twisting/wrapping last night, I was going back and forth on Glide with my best friend who commented “Gurl, you always doin’ sum to your hair that looks like too much work.” (Hope you read that in a country accent, because she lives in Arkansas). It’s true, I AM always doing something new to my hair, but this one is probably the best investment, in terms of return. Because a few back breaking hours this week means worry free living for the next 6-10 weeks. Can I get an Amen?

What are your Hair Hide-N-Seek Tricks, Tips and Hacks for passing off an unfinished style?

Leave a comment